Awards Dinner 2015

125This year’s edition was held at Irene Country Club, the home of the GNGU.

Please find the prize list below and see our gallery for the photos.









1.         Women’s Thursday League 2015                                                         


Woodhill Country Club


2.         Women’s Saturday League 2015          


A div: Akasia Country Club

B div: Silver Lakes Country Club


3.         Mixed League 2015                                                                                                                                   

A div: The Els Club @ Copperleaf

B div: Centurion Country Club

C div: Akasia Country Club


4.         Caddy League 2015


Pretoria Country Club


5.         Junior League 2015                                                                                  


A div: Akasia Country Club

B div: Akasia Country Club 2


6.         Men’s Senior Handicap League 2015                          


Pretoria Country Club


7.         Men’s Handicap League 2015                                       


A div: Services Golf Club

B div: Bronkhorstspruit Golf Club


8.         Men’s Senior Scratch League 2015                             


Zwartkop Country Club


9.         Men’s Mid-Amateur League 2015                                              

A div: Irene Country Club

B div: Woodhill Country Club


10.       Men’s Scratch League 2015                                           


A div: Wingate Park Country Club

B div: Silver Lakes Country Club





Women’s Senior Champion of Champions – Marie-Louise Grobler (Silver Lakes CC)


Women’s C Division Champion of Champions – Susan Venter (Silver Lakes CC)


Women’s B Division Champion of Champions – Naomi vom Hagen (Akasia CC)


Women’s Champion of Champions – Nicole Hannah (PCC)


Champion of Champions C Div – Warwick Lombard (Blue Valley G&CC)


Champion of Champions B Div – Christo Smit (Akasia CC)


Senior Champion of Champions – Mellette Hendrikse (Akasia CC)


Champion of Champions – Andrew van der Knaap (Centurion CC)

Teams of Two Champions – Lenza de Jager / Maritha de Beer (Pretoria CC)


Coronation Cup – Tom Nel / Thea Nel (The Els Club-Copperleaf)


Junior Girls Open Champion 2015 – Ivanna Samu (Ruimsig CC) Current SA Stroke Play Champion. Second ranked woman in the country.


Women’s Open Bronze Championship – Katya Henriques (Glenvista CC)


Women’s Open B Division Champion – Maritha de Beer (Pretoria CC)


Women’s Open Stroke Play Champion – Carrie Park (Centurion CC)


Women’s Open Match Play Champion – Carrie Park (Centurion CC)



U/23 Open A Div Champion – Marco Loubser (Silver Lakes CC)


Mid-Amateur Closed Champion – Gerhard Strydom (Waterkloof GC)


Mid-Amateur Open Champion – Josef Fourie (Free State GU)


Senior Closed Champion – Gerhard Strydom (Waterkloof GC)


Super Senior Closed Champion – Dirk Swanevelder (Woodhill CC)


Senior Open Champion – Mellette Hendrikse (Akasia CC)


Closed B Div Champion – Jan Carel Nel (Wingate Park CC)


Closed A Div Champion – Mellette Hendrikse (Akasia CC)


Open Foursomes Champions – Andrew van der Knaap (CCC) / Marco Loubser (Silver Lakes)


Open Stroke Play Champion – Theunis Bezuidenhout (Rustenburg GC)


GNGU Silver Salver Winner – Ettienne Janse van Rensburg (Akasia CC)






GNGU Women’s IPT (A Team) 2015                              Carrie Park, Danielle du Toit, Chantelle Hefer, Adele Beytell, Marike Reyneke, Ruzanne van der Walt, Pat Roets (Manager)


GNGU Women’s IPT (B Team) 2015                              JannelizeBessenger, Larissa du Preez, Mercedes Kreissel, Marinda Pretorius, Heidi van der Berg, Karin Watts, Alet Crous (Manager)




Andrew van der Knaap (Capt)

Teaghan Gauche

Jason Smith

Hendrikus Stoop

James du Preez

Keegan de Lange

Marco Loubser

Rosswell Sinclair

Gerry Few (Manager)




2015 GNGU Most Promising Women Player of the Year – Danielle du Toit (PCC) No 8 Ranked. No 7 Jnr Ranked. Won Ackerman Champs in CT. Tied 1st at Qual at IPT.


2015 GNGU Women Player of the Year – Carrie Park (Centurion CC) Won both GNGU Open SP and MP. Won SA Women’s Amateur MP Title. 6th Ranked in SA.


2015 GNGU Senior Player of the Year – Mellette Hendrikse (Akasia CC) Won 5 tournaments in 2015 and finished T3rd at the SA Snr SP. Won GNGU Closed Champs. Ranked 2 in SA.


2015 GNGU Mid-Amateur Player of the Year – Bennie van Loggerenberg (Akasia CC) Ranked 8th in SA. Won FS Mid-Am.


2015 GNGU Most Promising Men Player of the Year – Rosswell Sinclair (Centurion CC) No 1 ranked Junior in SA. Won SA Boys Under 19 and Lion of Africa Junior Open.


2015 GNGU Men Player of the Year – Teaghan Gauche (Wingate Park CC) Currently No2 player in SA. Won Northern Amateur MP. Represented SA on 4 occasions during 2015.



GNGU HONORS AWARDS                                                                              


National Colours               


Teaghan Gauche (WPCC) (4 x: Test vs Scotland, Zone VI in Uganda, The Spirit at Wispering Pines, 20th International Team Tournament in Argentina.)


Jason Smith (Irene CC) (4 x: Test SA vs Scotland, Southern Cross in Argentina, Zone VI in Uganda, AAGTC in Kenia)


Hendrikus Stoop (Centurion CC) (3 x: Test vs Scotland, Southern Cross in Argentina, Zone VI in Uganda)


Junior National Colours


Keegan de Lange (PCC) (Test vs France at St Francis Bay, AAJGC in Lusaka, WJGTC in Japan)


Jean-Pierre Cooper (WPCC) (Test vs France at St Francis Bay)