Waterkloof waltzes to SA High School Champs victory

GNGUTSHWANE, 7 August 2015 – Eric Nel, Estiaan Conradie, Dylan Kok and JP Cooper combined to score Waterkloof High School’s biggest coup of the season when they marched to victory in the South African High School Championship at Irene Country Club on Friday.

Four for four in victories this season, the quartet defeated defending champions TuksSport High School by seven strokes in a tightly-contested final to keep their winning record pristine.

The leaders slept on a three stroke lead over TuksSport after opening with an even-par 216.

Nel anchored the side with a 68, Conradie added a 70 and Kok contributed a 72 for a tally of 210 and victory on six-under-par 426.

Team manager Christine Hare, who shared in the joy of the team’s first victory in the prestigious national team competition in 2012, was understandably thrilled with the outcome.

“Our team won the Pecanwood College Golf Championship, the Woodlands Junior Masters, the Gauteng North Chairman’s Trophy and the Gauteng North Team Qualifier and winning the SA High School Championship is a dream come true for them,” said Hare.

“These four juniors have been playing together since grade eight. It was their ultimate goal to emulate our 2012 winners, especially for Estiaan and Dylan, whose brothers Ruan Conradie and Aubrey Kok were members of the victorious 2012 team.

“The course set-up was similar to how Irene set up the course for the IGT Tour and it was a real test of skill and patience for the field. I believe their focus and patience pulled it through for us, especially in the final round.

“The key to their success is also their commitment to play for each other. When one player struggles, he knows the rest of the team will cover this back. JP had a great first round, but struggled a little in the final round and Eric burned up the back nine in 29 strokes.

“This kind of commitment has served them really well this season and helped them to attain their biggest goal.”
Meanwhile a much improved 70 from Marco Steyn and 72s from Sentanio Minnie and Dylan Naidoo for 214 secured second for 2014 winners TuksSport High School on 433.

Adriaan Swart (67), Cornelius Upton (71) and Jean Hannah (72) from Affies maintained their overnight position with a 210 to finish in third place on 441.

Meanwhile Deon Germishuys from Strand High School in the Western Cape claimed the Individual honours with rounds of 72 and 66.

The Western Province junior reached the 14th hole on two under and birdied the last four holes to claim a two stroke victory on six under 138 over first round leader Naidoo. Nel and Conradie finished a further stroke back in a tie for third on 141.

Click HERE for Team Result
Click HERE for Individual Result

PHOTO: 2015 South African High School Championship winners Waterkloof High School; credit David Younge/SAGA