Smith still standing at Northern Amateur

Jason Smith-1_GNGUJOHANNESBURG, 16 March 2016 – Jason Smith from Gauteng North will take on Marco Steyn from Central Gauteng in the quarter-finals of the Northern Amateur Match Play Championship on Thursday.
Smith downed Sean Bradley from Western Province 6 & 5 in round one and beat Southern Cape’s Andre Nel 3 & 2 to make the final eight at the Firethorn Course at Randpark Golf Club.
Just a week since he held off a strong international challenge to capture the Curro SA Juniors International Boys title, 16-year-old Boland junior Garrick Higgo defeated 2015 Nomads SA Boys U-17 winner Herman Loubser 1-up and then knocked out reigning Harry Oppenheimer Trophy champion Philip Kruse 2 & 1.
Higgo will face off against former Olympian Kyle McClatchie in the quarter-finals at the Firethorn Course on Thursday.

McClatchie won 2-up against Combrinck Smit from Vryheid and downed Gauteng North’s James du Preez 5 & 4 in the second round.
Central Gauteng’s Dylan Naidoo will go head-to-head with Ekurhuleni’s Angus Ellis-Cole, who dispatched 2016 Northern Amateur Stroke Play winner Dylan Kok from Gauteng North 1-up in round two.
The final match will see Jovan Rebula from Southern Cape take on Central Gauteng’s Tyrone Gibb, who beat David Meyers from Dainfern 3 & 1 in the first round and took out another Dainfern golfer, Shaun Bernstein 3 & 2 in the second round.
Angus Ellis-Cole (Glendower GC) beat Dylan Kok (Woodhill CC) 1Up;
Garrick Higgo (De Zalze GC) beat Philip Kruse (Silver Lakes CC) 2 & 1;
Dylan Naidoo (Modderfontein GC) beat Louis Albertse (Dundee CC) 1Up;
Kyle McClatchie (Serengeti Golf & Wildlife Estate) beat James du Preez (Pretoria CC) 5 & 4;
Jason Smith (Irene CC) beat Andre Nel (Kingswood GE) 3 & 2;
Tyrone Gibb (Royal JHB & Kensington GC) beat Shaun Bernstein (Dainfern CC) 3 & 2;
Marco Steyn (Modderfontein GC) beat Luke Trocado (Atlantic Beach GC) 2 & 1;
Jovan Rebula (George GC) beat Albert Venter (Centurion CC) 5 & 4;
Dylan Kok (Woodhill CC) beat David Rebelo (Kyalami CC) 4 & 3;
Philip Kruse (Silver Lakes CC) beat Tristen Strydom (Serengeti Golf & Wildlife Estate) 2 & 1;
Angus Ellis-Cole (Glendower GC) beat Etienne J van Rensburg (Akasia CC) 2 & 1;
Garrick Higgo (De Zalze GC) beat Herman Loubser (Theewaterskloof GC) 1Up;
Dylan Naidoo (Modderfontein GC) beat Loris Schuepbach SUI 5 & 4;
James du Preez (Pretoria CC) beat Byron Sampson (Bryanston CC) 6 & 5;
Louis Albertse (Dundee CC) beat Ruan Conradie (Wingate Park CC) 1Up;
Kyle McClatchie (Serengeti Golf & Wildlife Estate) beat Combrinck Smit (Vryheid GC) 2Up;
Andre Nel (Kingswood GE) beat Ryan Dreyer (Killarney CC) 2 & 1;
Albert Venter (Centurion CC) beat Aubrey Beckley (Potchefstroom CC) 20th hole;
Jason Smith (Irene CC) beat Sean Bradley (Royal Cape GC) 6 & 5;
Jovan Rebula (George GC) beat David Mcintyre (Eagle Canyon) 19th hole;
Marco Steyn (Modderfontein GC) beat Tristan Brice (Royal JHB & Kensington GC) 4 & 3;
Shaun Bernstein (Dainfern CC) beat Cameron Moralee (Dainfern CC) 1Up;
Luke Trocado (Atlantic Beach GC) beat Richard Joubert (Silver Lakes CC) 3 & 2;
Tyrone Gibb (Royal JHB & Kensington GC) beat David Meyers (Dainfern CC) 3 & 1;
PHOTO – Jason Smith; credit Ernest Blignault