Mid-Amateur and Senior Closed Championship 2015


Johan Struwig with Gerhard Strydom

The weekend of the 6th and 7th of June saw the GNGU Mid-Amateur and Senior Closed Championship being played at Services Golf Club. The format of 36 Holes of stroke play, 18 holes per day over a Saturday afternoon and a Sunday morning, was the one used for all senior tournaments.

Senior golfer Gerhard Strydom from Waterkloof Golf Club was the winner of the inaugural combined event with an impressive score of 144 strokes. He beat Rinus van Niekerk, a super-senior, by 5 strokes and the best placed Mid-Amateur, Martin Kraft by 6 strokes

Amidst cold conditions and a very tough course setup the mood amongst the players was positive, friendly and fiercely competitive. The Services Golf Club staff went out of their way to accommodate the players and several members of the GNGU Executive who were also in the field. Johan Struwig, who was elected as the Union’s President in May, together with Denis Dreyer, Gerhard Lombard and Neill Malherbe were the Executive Members who competed in the event. Paul Davel (Vice-President) was Tournament Director and photographer and ran a very tight and well managed event.

James du Preez from PwC  kindly donated to every player a branded gift pack and golf towel in a continuance of the company’s long standing relationship with the Gauteng North Golf Union. This gift was very well received by all the players.

On conclusion of the tournament a complimentary “braai” was enjoyed by all the participants, which contributed towards the good camaraderie and spirit amongst our top mid-amateur and senior golfers in the Union.



Prize Winners:

Super Senior Champion                  Dirk Swanevelder            (158)

Overall Nett Runner-up                 Louis Jonck                         (145)

Overall Nett Winner                       Morne Combrink             (144)

Senior 3rd                                           Dicky Viljoen                      (153)

Senior 2nd                                          William Skinner                 (151)

Senior Champion                             Rinus van Niekerk            (149)

Mid-Amateur 3rd                             Gordon Wessels               (151)

Mid-Amateur 2nd                            Martin Kraft                       (150)


Mid-Amateur Champion               Gerhard Strydom             (144)