Golf RSA breaks ground with first National Squad

SANLAM AMATURE GOLF CHAMPIONSHIPSCAPE TOWN, 22 December 2015 – Golf RSA, the governing body for amateur golf in South Africa, has announced a National Squad of 34 players for 2016.

The squad will be made up of some of the country’s most talented young amateurs and will feature players from the top of the open amateur and junior amateur rankings, plus a good mix of promising youngsters who have the potential to become great players.

South Africa’s top ranked amateur Tristen Strydom spearheads the group of Open Amateurs, while the country’s number one ranked junior Ross Sinclair leads the way in the U-19 section.

South African Golf Development Board member Banele Mavusa from Mpumalanga and Wilco Niebaber from Free State, who shared the Most Valuable Player honours in the B-Section at the recent South African Under-19 Inter-Provincial, are also among the 2016 inductees.

Other Gauteng North inductees include Albert Venter, James du Preez, Jason Smith and Keegan Mclachlan.

Funded by businessman Johann Rupert, one of the main objectives of the National Squad is to ensure that should players opt to turn professional, they are well prepared for the rigours of the paid ranks.

“We believe that by enhancing the players’ amateur experiences and opportunities, we can produce stronger national teams and provide individuals with the best preparation for life as golf professionals,” explained Golf RSA CEO Grant Hepburn.

“That’s where the National Squad comes in. Thanks to the generosity of Mr Rupert, we are able to provide funding, support, advice, training camps and, ultimately, playing opportunities for the best of South Africa’s young golfing talent.

“Womens Golf South Africa are nominating their own National Squad early next year. The squad will receive funding from Golf RSA and their Elite Squad players will be invited to attend our National Squad camps.”

The National Squad will provide a valuable platform for talented golfers to further develop their skills and showcase themselves through competition, locally and on the world stage.

Players on the fringe of selection to the National Squad will also benefit from squad funding via their provincial unions, and will be closely monitored. These players will have a chance to play their way into the squad through good performances.

Seniors (19)
Albert Venter
Andre Nel
Anuerin Gounden
Aubrey Beckley
Darin de Smidt
David Meyers
Dylan Jacobs
Dylan Naidoo
Hayden Garcia
Jade Buitendag
James du Preez
Jason Smith
Jovan Rebula
Kyle McLatchie
Luke Trocado
Matt Saulez
Sentanio Minnie
Steven le Roux
Tristen Strydom

Juniors (15)
Banele Mavuso
Cole Stevens
Dylan Mostert
Franklin Manchest
Herman Loubser
Jordan Duminy
Karabo Mokoena
Keegan Mclachlan
Keelan van Wyk
Luca Filippi
Luke Mayo
Marco Steyn
Martin Vorster
Ross Sinclair
Wilco Nienaber

PHOTO – SA number one ranked junior Ross Sinclair; credit Catherine Kotze / SASPA

Golf RSA is the new governing body for amateur golf in South Africa, comprising the South African Golf Association, Women’s Golf South Africa and the South African Disabled Golf Association.