End of the road for SA at Amateur Championship

2015 Leopard TrophyANGUS, Scotland (17 June 2015) – Scotsman Craig Howie and Ryan Chisnall from New Zealand led the Stroke Play qualifier of the 120th Amateur Championship, but the world-famous Carnoustie layout proved just too brutal for the eight-man South African contingent in Scotland.

Howie and Chisnall, who shared the top spot on seven-under-par 135, qualified for the match play championship over the next four days at Carnoustie, however, the South Africans were sent packing after the cut to the top 64 and ties was set at one-over-par 143.

Gauteng North’s Hendrikus Stoop was the top performer among the five players who traversed the testing layout of Carnoustie in the second round, while Ian Snyman from Western Province led the South African challenge at Panmure in round two.

Stoop, who opened with a 75 at Panmure, signed for a one-under-par 71 at the seven-time Open Championship venue.

His round included half a dozen birdies, a triple bogey at the sixth, bogey at 16 and double bogey at 17 and finished on four-over-par 146.

Snyman carded a first round 77 at Carnoustie and returned an even-par 70 at Panmure. The Ernie Els and Fancourt Foundation player offset three bogeys with a hat-trick of birdies to tie KwaZulu-Natal’s Martin Rohwer at five over 147.

Rohwer, a junior at the University of Alabama, was in a strong position after an opening 69 at Panmure, but his challenge derailed with a 78 at Carnoustie.

Gauteng North’s Jason Smith a further stroke back after two 74s.

Fellow TuksSport Golf Academy member James du Preez followed a solid 70 at Panmure with hefty 80 at Carnoustie.

He tied Central Gauteng’s Matthew Spacey, who added a 73 at Panmure to his first round 77, on eight over 150.

Bryce McCabe carded a first round 81 at Carnoustie and returned a 75 at Panmure. The Ekurhuleni amateur finished at 14 over 156, one stroke ahead of Southern Cape’s Jade Buitendag, who posted a 76 at Panmure and 81 at Carnoustie.

SA squad members Stoop, Du Preez, Smith, Spacey, Buitendag and Teaghan Gauche will end their tour of the United Kingdom with the English Men’s Open Amateur Stroke Play Championship, also known as the Brabazon Trophy.

Nott Golf Club in Hollinwell will host the championship for a fifth time from 24 – 2 7 June.

Panmure – par 70 / Carnoustie – par 72
146 Hendrikus Stoop (75-P; 71-C)
147 Martin Rohwer (69-P; 78-C); Ian Snyman (77-C; 70-P)
148 Jason Smith (74-P; 74-C)
150 James du Preez (70-P; 80-C); Matthew Spacey (77-C; 73-P)
156 Bryce McCabe (81-C; 75-P)
157 Jade Buitendag (76-P; 81-C)

PHOTO – Gauteng North’s Hendrikus Stoop; credit Roger Sedres / Image SA.