Big upsets at Nomads SA Boys U-19 Match Play

SANLAM AMATURE GOLF CHAMPIONSHIPSPOLOKWANE, 9 April 2015 – Gauteng North’s Rosswell Sinclair and Free State junior Attie van Wyk claimed big scalps in the first round of the Nomads SA Boys U-19 Match Play Championship when the pair dispatched the favourites at Polokwane Golf Club on Thursday..

Van Wyk, who clinched the final spot in the 32-man field in a play-off, derailed Dylan Naidoo’s hopes of a double in the prestigious junior championship when he downed the newly-crowned Stroke Play champion 3 & 2.

Sinclair served up the second big blow in the first round when he dispatched the country’s current number one ranked amateur Tristen Strydom 5 & 4.

The Centurion player kept his winning run going with another 3 & 2 result against Sentanio Minnie from Ekurhuleni in the second round, but Van Wyk bowed out to Gauteng North’s JP Cooper, who clinched a 1-up victory at the 18th hole.

The other six players that advanced to the quarter-finals are Slade Pickering from North West, Kyle Barker from Central Gauteng, Luca Filippi from Western Province, Matt Saulez from KwaZulu-Natal, Southern Cape’s Jovan Rebula and Estiaan Conradie from Gauteng North, who booked his spot in the final eight with victory at the 19th hole against Deon Germishuys from Western Province.

Juan-Pierre Cooper beat Attie van Wyk 1-Up;
Slade Pickering beat Cameron Nesmith 1-Up;
Kyle Barker beat Kyle McClatchie 2 & 1;
Matt Saulez beat Julien Sale MAU 3 & 2;
Rosswell Sinclair beat Sentanio Minnie 3 & 2;
Jovan Rebula beat Herman Loubser 1-Up;
Estiaan Conradie beat Deon Germishuys 19th hole;
Luca Filippi beat Keegan McClachlan 2 & 1;

Attie van Wyk beat Dylan Naidoo 3 & 2;
Juan-Pierre Cooper beat Keegan de Lange 5 & 4;
Cameron Nesmith beat Dawid Opperman 1Up;
Slade Pickering beat Burt Gildenhuys 3 & 2;
Kyle McClatchie beat Emilio Pera 2 & 1;
Kyle Barker beat Garrick Higgo 5 & 3;
Julien Sale MAU beat Anuerin Gounden 20th hole;
Matt Saulez beat Cameron Moralee 2 & 1;
Rosswell Sinclair beat Tristen Strydom 5 & 4;
Sentanio Minnie beat Alan Lones 2 & 1;
Herman Loubser beat Marco Steyn 3 & 1;
Jovan Rebula beat Henry Anderson 3 & 2;
Estiaan Conradie beat Dylan Mostert 3 & 2;
Deon Germishuys beat Michael Sherriff 2 & 1;
Keegan McClachlan beat Jason Thalrose 6 & 5;
Luca Filippi beat Clifford Thompson 1Up;

PHOTO – Gauteng North’s Rosswell Sinclair; credit Catherine Kotze / SASPA.