Akasia crowned Northern Provinces Champs

Akasia Country Club has been crowned Northern Provinces League Finals champions for the second time in three years.

After narrowly edging out Wingate Park Country Club in the Scratch League finals by half a point in the home and away fixtures they took this momentum to face the other champions of the Northern Provinces. The cup was contested 12 and 13 July, hosted by the Central Gauteng Golf Union at Modderfontein Golf Club.

Akasia have been crowned the Gauteng North Golf Union scratch league champions for the past 3 consecutive years each time meeting Wingate Park Country Club in the finals. During 2012 the Gauteng North Golf Union hosted the event at Akasia Country Club where Akasia won the tournament. The 2013 edition was hosted by the Limpopo Golf Union at Potgietersrus Golf Club. Potchefstroom Country Club beat Akasia in a fiercely contested event by half a point. This year Akasia revenged their narrow defeat by not losing any of their matches.

The Northern Provinces Cup originated in 1948. It was contested between the Golf Associations who were then part of the Transvaal Golf Union. After the split of Transvaal into separate provinces the Cup is still contested to this day by the current Northern Unions (Limpopo, Mpumalanga, Ekurhuleni, North West, Central Gauteng, Gauteng North).

akasia scratch league champs 2014 (54)

From left to right: Steyn Zietsman (Akasia CC Club Manager), Fourie Zietsman, Chris Froneman, Marthin Scheepers, Robert Gouws, Phillip Croukamp, Hilliard du Plessis (Team Manager and Golf Director), Mellette Hendrikse (Captain), Zak Kleynhans and Ben Kleynhans. Kneeling: Neil Malherbe (Akasia CC Chairman) and Willie Madiba.

For more detail please click on one of the links below:

TeamGrid, TeamPositions, IndividualResults, MostValuedPlayer, ResultsRound1, ResultsRound2, ResultsRound3, ResultsRound4.