SA hunting redemption in Kenya


 NAIROBI, Kenya (13 October 2015) – South Africa will be hunting a low total in the third round of the Africa Amateur Golf Team Championships (AAGTC) in Kenya after losing their overnight lead Limuru Golf and Country Club on Tuesday.

Kenya pulled level with overnight leaders and tournament favourites on a day of high drama for the local heroes after Gauteng North’s Jason Smith, who fired the low round of the day, was disqualified for the second round.

The South Africans began the day with a four shot lead over the host nation and Smith fired a three-under-par 69 to give the defending champions a huge lift.

Aubrey Beckley from North West returned a 71 and new cap Andre Nel carded a 75, which would have given the team a second round total of 215 and an 11 shot lead over Kenya.

“Unfortunately Jason forgot to sign his card before he left the scoring area and he was disqualified,” said TuksGolf Club & Academies head coach Llewellyn van Leeuwen.

“Jade (Buitendag) shot a non-counting 80, which now counted for our team total and we posted a 226 to draw level with Kenya on 442.

“We had a late start and Jason played really well in the gusting wind. He was devastated when he discovered his mistake, but the disqualification only stands for the second round.

“Jason has vowed to make it up to the team and his team mates see this as an opportunity to become even more determined to succeed.

“Aubrey made two great birdies late in his round to finish under par. Andre is playing so much better than his scores over the first two rounds reflect. If he can keep his course management as good as his attitude, he’ll go low in the next couple of days.

“Jade had one of those days where his usual fantastic rhythm just wasn’t quite there. He worked really hard post round to ensure he finds it for today.”

South Africa and Kenya will start today’s third round with a slender one shot lead over Zimbabwe, who followed an opening 225 with a 218 to vault to third on 443.

442 South Africa 216 226; Kenya 220 222
443 Zimbabwe 225 218
449 Uganda 222 226
456 Zambia 220 236
464 Mauritius 233 231
467 Tanzania 235 232
468 Tunisia 235 233
475 Namibia 242 233
479 Egypt 244 235
480 Ivory Coast 241 239
484 Botswana 253 231
495 Seychelles 242 253

PHOTO – Team South Africa at the All Africa Golf Team Championships; credit SAGA.