2018 GNGU Nomads Jnr Girls & 2018 GNGU Women’s Mid Am

Centurion Country Club hosted this year’s GNGU Nomads Junior Girls as well as inaugural Women’s Mid Amateur Open.

Each age section had an A (handicaps up to 9 playing stroke play), B (handicaps 10 – 18 playing stroke play) and C (handicaps 19+ playing individual stableford) division.

For the Junior Girls 2018 trophy, Kiera Floyd from Ekurhuleni went into round 2 with a 1 shot lead over Ladies Golf Gauteng’s Symone Henriques.   However, in round 2 Kaiyuree Moodley from Ladies Golf Gauteng shot a magnificent 68, to total 4 under for the event and take the A Division trophy.
B Division was won by Kyra van Kan of Ekurhuleni on +12 and C Division by Gizelle van der Westhuizen of Zwartkop cc, with 62 points for the 2 rounds.  Pictured above David Peerless, with Junior Girls winner Kaiyuree Moodley and Centurion Ladies Captain, Sue Smith.

It was with excitement that WGSA introduced ranking points for the Mid Amateur section and after round 1, Karin Watts from Services was leading by 1.  However, Adele Beytell from Woodhill cc, shooting rounds of 80 and 81 managed to win this first GNGU Women’s Mid Amateur trophy on a total of 163.
Valda Ford from Ladies Golf Gauteng won the B Division on 166 and Franci Coetzee from Silver Lakes had 65 stableford points to win the C Division.   Pictured above Women’s Mid Amateur winner Adele Beytell with Centurion Ladies Captain, Sue Smith.

Thank you to the Club for the special touches, including pink flags, pink cups and chocies given to players.  Also a big thank you to the committee and members for giving up their course for the day, as well as staff and management for their assistance.

Finally, thank you to Northern Nomads who once again sponsored the Junior section of this event – their support assists in adding great value to the juniors and is greatly appreciated.

Womens Mid Amateur Ranking and Events

It is with excitement that WGSA have now introduced an SA Mid Amateur Ranking for WGSA mid-amateur affiliated golfers.

CLICK HERE to view the explanatory document.

The GNGU Women’s Mid Amateur Open is taking place at Centurion Country Club on Sunday, 11 February 2018.  Entries close on Friday, 2 February at 12h00.  Please go to the Entries / Draws / Results tab for more information and to enter.

2018 GNGU Open

The 2018 GNGU Open was held 26 – 28 January 2018 at the beautiful Waterkloof Golf Club.

With 186 players in the field, it was always going to be well contested.  After round 1 Kyle McClatchie from Ekurhuleni shot 65 and had a 1 shot lead over 3 players tied for second.  In round 2 McClatchie overcame a triple bogey and a double bogey during his round to finish level for the day, leaving him 4 shots behind tournament leader James du Preez from Pretoria Country Club.   However, a 64 in round 3 took McClatchie into a 1 shot lead ahead of du Preez, who had rounds of 66, 67 and 69 to leave him lying 2nd going into the final round.  A birdie free final round, shooting 62 and ending with a birdie on the last hole was a fantastic way for McClatchie to end as an amateur, as this was his last amateur tournament before he turns professional.

The GNGU would like to thank all players for their participation and enthusiasm.  We would also like to thank Waterkloof’s members, management and executive committee for giving up their course to host this prestigious event.

For full results CLICK HERE

2018 GNGU Senior Open

The 2018 GNGU Senior Open was held 20 & 21 January 2018 at Silver Lakes Golf Estate.  The course was in exceptional condition and the Union extends its thanks to the Club, members and staff for their assistance over the weekend.

Steven Williams shot 70 in round 1 and went into the 2nd round with a 1 shot lead over Chris Delport and Neil Fusedale, however his 69 in round 2 ensured a comprehensive victory, totaling 5 under par.  Tied for second place were Phillip Bierman, Francois Le Roux and Chris Delport.

For full results – CLICK HERE.

A highlight of this event was having the Reunion Tourism Board, with Air Austral, Lux* Saint Gilles and Reunitours sponsoring a fantastic lucky draw prize of a trip to Reunion Island.
Ben Botes was the lucky winner of this fantastic prize.
For more information on Reunion Island, on facebook go to @GotoReunionSA

GNGU Tournaments January / February 2018

2018 starts off with a bang with a number of tournaments being hosted by the Union in the first two months.
The new look Entries / Draws / Results page on our website is working well, and allows you to see all the upcoming tournaments for the year, as well as refine your search to select the category for which you want to view (eg. Open / Women / Mid Amateur / Senior / Juniors).
Entries for all tournaments are online and through payfast participants are required to pay by cheque card / credit card / EFT on entry to a tournament.
Tournament results will also be saved and archived here, so going forward players will be able to look back on past results.
CLICK HERE to go to this page now and have a look at what tournaments are coming up and ensure you enter before the closing date!

Gauteng North Senior Open

GNGU Senior Open 2018

Entries for the 2018 GNGU Senior Open are now online.
This year, we are excited to have an added Lucky Draw prize, that is sponsored by Air Austral, Lux* Saint Gilles, Reunitours and the Reunion Island Tourism Board.
Subject to the terms and conditions set out by the sponsors of the prize, players will be able to enter a lucky draw at the tournament and stand the chance of winning: –

2 Flight tickets to Reunion Island courtesy of Air Austral
Accommodation for 2 people for 5 nights courtesy of Lux* Saint Gilles (5*)
2 helicopter flights courtesy of Helico
Volcano excursion

Entries for the tournament are online only and close Friday 12 January at 12h00.
CLICK HERE to enter.

Year End Delegates Meeting

The 2017 year end delegates meeting will be held at Irene Country Club on Tuesday, 28 November @ 18:30 in the cricket pavilion.
We strongly urge that all Clubs please send at least one representative to this final meeting of the year, where the 2018 budget will need to be approved.

Should you have any questions, please contact our offices on 012 667 1087.