Category Archives: Golf News

Contact Information

Please note, that the office is currently closed and we are working from home during this period.  Kindly contact Taryn on or 084 833 7878 / Morne or 083 356 4834.

Ladies 72 Hole Teams Selected

It gives us great pleasure to announced the following teams, who have been selected to represent Gauteng North at the upcoming WGSA 72 Hole Teams Championship taking place at Plettenberg Bay CC 26 – 29 April 2020.

A Team (in no particular order) –
Larissa du Preez (Captain)       Silver Lakes CC
Bronwyn Doeg                           Pretoria CC
Holly Lau                                     Woodhill CC
– Managed by Joey Prinsloo

B Team (in no particular order) –
Heidi van der Berg                   Zwartkop CC
Kaylin van der Merwe              Wingate Park CC
Hannah Venter                          Waterkloof GC
– Managed by Thea Nel

Non Traveling reserve – Karin Watts  Services GC

We would like to with both the teams the best of luck with their preparations and we know you will do us proud!

Senior and Super Senior IPT Teams Selected

It gives us great pleasure to announced the following teams, who will be selected to represent Gauteng North at the upcoming Senior and Super Senior A Section IPT taking place at Stellenbosch CC 21 – 24 April 2020.

Senior Team (in no particular order): –
William Skinner (Captain)          Zwartkop CC
Gordon Wessels                          Wingate Park CC
Pieter Cooper                              Wingate Park CC
Gerhard Strydom                        Waterkloof GC
Derik Piek                                     Waterkloof GC
Neil Goosen                                 Zwartkop CC
Corne Basson                              Zwartkop CC
Leon Scheepers                          Zwartkop CC
– Managed by Morne Engelbrecht

Super Senior Team (in no particular order):-
Dirk Swanevelder (Captain)      Woodhill CC
Adrian Kriel                                  Wingate Park CC
Phillip Viljoen                               Wingate Park CC
Phillip Bierman                            Akasia GC
Managed by Petrus Pieterse

We wish both teams the best of luck for the tournaments and hope you bring the trophies home!

Van Tonder takes 2020 GNGU Mid Am Open Title

The 2020 GNGU Mid Amateur Open was held at Pretoria Country Club this weekend.
The course was in magnificent condition and proved a true test to all the players.  After round 1, 2019 GNGU Premier IPT Captain and winning
Mid Am IPT team member, from Waterkloof Golf Club, Jacques van Tonder held a 2 shot lead over Clive Palm and Etienne Karsten.  Jacques kept his cool and with rounds of 69, 68 won the 2020 title by 6 shots ahead of Clive Palm and Travis Fraser.

A huge thank you to Pretoria Country Club’s Committee and members for giving up the course for the day.  We also thank management and staff for their hospitality.

For full results CLICK HERE

GNGU Nomads Jnr Girls & GNGU Women’s Mid Am & Snr Open

Wingate Park Country Club was in absolutely magnificent condition and it was great to host the 2020 GNGU Nomads Junior Girls and GNGU Women’s Mid Am and Senior Open there.
Defending her 2019 title, Kiera Floyd once again lifted the Nomads Junior Girls trophy.  We are privileged to have Nomads Northerns support the Junior Girls tournament annually – Nomads do incredible work for Junior golf throughout South Africa.
The Mid Am Trophy for 2020 was won by Gina Da Silva from Centurion Country Club.  A prize was also awarded to the best Senior, Patricia Swarts from Modderfontein Golf Club.
Both tournaments saw prizes awarded to players in A, B and C Division as well as net prizes.  We are hoping to grow this event annually and thank all players for their support.
We also thank Wingate Park CC for their hospitality and their Committee and members for giving up the course to host the event.

For all the tournament results go to and click on the name of the relevant tournament to download the results


We recently sent out a note to the Handicap and Senior Scratch League Co-ordinators stating that temporarily league players must enter a No Return for league fixtures into the handicap system due to some queries raised with regard to capturing scores for match-play into HNA. We have subsequently received feedback from GolfRSA and can confirm the following: CLICK HERE for Memo