Author Archives: Taryn Davel

Toyota Junior Golf World Cup

Congratulations to the GolfRSA junior team of Martin Vorster, Sam Simpson, Casey Jarvis and Christo Lamprecht jnr who have won the 2019 Toyota Junior Golf World Cup.  It has been 18 years since South Africa last lifted this trophy and we are extremely proud of this achievement.  CLICK HERE for all the results.

GNGU Mid Am & Snr Closed

The 2019 Mid Amateur and Senior Closed was held at Zwartkop Country Club.
This 36 hole tournament, played over 2 days is always closely contested with the best of the local mid amateur and senior golfers ending.  The seniors proved to be coming out tops with Derik Piek and Neil Goosen both going into round 2 on -2, a 1 shot lead over leading mid amateur Menno Malherbe.  However an excellent final round of -5 and overall score of -2 for the tournament gave Wingate Park CC’s Nicholas Geerts the title of 2019 GNGU Mid Amateur Closed Champion.  Neil Goosen took his home ground advantage, finishing with 3 birdies in a row to take the Senior Closed trophy, finishing on level Par for the tournament.

We would like to thank all players who participated, as well as Zwartkop CC management, staff and members.


For full results CLICK HERE


Susan Deyzel

We are heartbroken to have heard the news of the passing of Susan Deyzel.
Susan ran junior golf in Gauteng North for a number of years and her dedication and passion to junior golf was unsurpassed.
We extend our deepest condolences to her family and friends.
May she rest in peace.

Susan celebration of life will take place on Wednesday 22 May at 11:00, NG Valleisig, corner of Tipperary and Mayo Street Faerie Glen.

72 Hole Team Championships

It gives us great pleasure to announce the teams selected to represent Gauteng North at the upcoming 72 hole team championships to be held at Maccauvlei GC 2 – 5 June 2019.

A Team:
Gina da Silva        –     Centurion CC
Larissa du Preez  –     Silver Lakes GE
Shanice de Gee    –     Woodhill CC
Manager: Madeleine de Wet

B Team:
Karin Watts              –     Services GC
Heidi van der Berg  –    Zwartkop CC
Bronwyn Doeg         –    Pretoria CC
Manager: Joey Prinsloo

Captain: Gina da Silva
Non Travelling Reserve – Charlene Oosthuizen

We congratulate all players on their selection and look forward to the title defense!

2019/20 Executive Committee

The GNGU AGM was held on 7 May 2019 at Wingate Park CC.
It gives us great pleasure to announce the Executive Committee for the upcoming year: –
Johan Struwig – President
Paul Davel – Vice President
Thea Nel – Vice President
Madeleine de Wet – Treasurer
Wayne Heine – Honourary Secretary
Gerry Few – Past President
Karen van Huyssteen
Joey Prinsloo
Craig Collins
Petrus Pieterse

We welcome Wayne, Craig and Petrus onto the Committee.
We also extend our thanks to Gerhard Lombard, Denis Dreyer and Neill Malherbe who have stepped down from the Committee.  Their commitment, support and input during their service on the Committee was invaluable.